Books and others

I have been asked numerous times about the books one should follow for GATE CS. Below is the list of books/online material I followed:

Subject Books
Discrete Maths Tremblay Manohar
Engineering Mathematics Random online lectures/notes to brush up topics. You may refer Kreyzig/ Jain & Iyengar
Data Structure Tanenbaum + GeeksForGeeks
Algorithms CLRS + GeeksForGeeks
Programming in C Dennis Ritchie
Theory of Computation NPTEL Lectures by Prof. Kamala Krithivasan +

Lectures by Shai Simonson

Compiler Design Dragon book
Operating System Galvin
Computer Networks Tanenbaum + Forouzan + Jochen schiller( wiFi)
Digital Design Morris Mano
Computer Architecture & Organization Morris Mano + NPTEL lectures by Prof. Ajit Pal (pipeline)
Databases Korth

I didn’t read books word by word, I did selective study than exhaustive. Moreover, I had read these books during my B.Tech so I referred notes/PPTs/online lectures to brush up on topics. I recommend you stick to GATE syllabus while referring these books. However, if you think the foundation is not strong, you should first work on your basics.

Below is the list of books GATE 2015 Topper – Ravishankar Mishra recommended:

Gate_Books.png

Use your conscience to select a book.

Other useful e-sources:

You may also read : http://expstreet.com/gate/computer-science-2016/ankita-jain/

Author: AnkitaJain

I am a slow learner who secured all India rank 1 in GATE 2016. I am also an engineer who did her B.Tech from Delhi Technological University (formerly DCE) in Computer Engineering.

8 thoughts on “Books and others”

  1. Thanks

    On Wed, 18 May 2016 at 4:06 PM, crackgatebyankitajain wrote:

    > AnkitaJain posted: “I have been asked numerous times about the books one > should follow for GATE CS. Below is the list of books/online material I > followed: Subject Books Discrete Maths Tremblay Manohar Engineering > Mathematics Random online lectures/notes to brush up to” >

    Like

  2. Hello Didi!can u pls suggest me which previous year solved paper book should I follow?I’m in dilemma btwn the book by made easy and ace!!thanks with best regards and wishes..!

    Like

    1. Hi Souvik,
      You may use any. I had recommend the one where previous yr ques are segregated topic wise and subject wise. If both the books have this then go for the one with least errors and detailed explanations. I had used ace’s book for topic wise prep and downloaded full paper i.e. year-wise from web. I found explanations provided at gateoverflow quite satisfactory. You may check geeksforgeeks or geekquiz too.
      All the best.

      Like

Leave a Reply

